We are so tough on ourselves, aren’t we?  We make decisions for our children – sound, well-thought out, well-researched, I know this is the right way decisions – and then we turn out to be our worst critics.  I do this ALL the time – mostly over small things that shouldn’t really matter.  One day I’ll be thinking about how we should try to give our son more food to see if he’ll eat it.  The next day I worry that we are over feeding him.  It is always something isn’t it? 

I think we torture ourselves because we love our little ones to no end, and we want to do what is best for them.  We want to be a perfect mom and do everything the right way, because we feel they deserve nothing but the best.  We feel a great responsibility to do everything perfectly for our children.  After all, everything always comes back to the mom, right?  At least that is what is in the back of our minds.  We want people to say, “oh, your children are little angels, they are perfect, I’ve never seen one cuter,…”  We are invested in our children and they are a product of our direction, love, discipline, and…

When it comes to the big stuff we really stress, don’t we?  When it comes to parenting topics, there will always be a big debate.  There will always be someone out there to tell you that what you are doing is wrong.  It doesn’t matter what you do, it is wrong.  Well, that is not what For the Love of Mom is about.  I want you to feel uplifted and encouraged.  No two families, moms, or babies are the same; there isn’t one formula that works for every family.  I’ll be the first one to say, “Who cares?”  Who cares if your baby isn’t wearing socks?  Who cares if your baby’s nails are a little long?  (Actually, I’ll never even look at your baby’s nails.)  Who cares how much they eat or how often?  Who cares if your son is wearing high-water pants (I say that because my son has been wearing high-waters for the past month.  It took forever for the weather to warm up this year and I refused to spend money on “winter” clothes when I knew 80 degree weather was right around the corner and my son has tons of spring clothes waiting to be worn.)       

All I care about is that little children are loved.  They deserve kisses, hugs, and tickles.  They deserve quality time with their parents.  My 8 month old has laughed so hard that he’s cried and couldn’t catch his breath.  It was the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen or heard.  I didn’t even know it was possible for an 8 month old.  I must say, that was my proudest “mom” moment to-date.  If I can make my son that happy then I feel like I’ve done the best job I can.  If children are loved then everything else will follow; they won’t be abused, they will be fed, and they will have a roof over their heads.  I would much rather watch a kid run into the arms of a parent picking them up from day care than to see a neglected kid at home with mom.  Don’t get me wrong, you have to do something.  You have to discipline, direct, shape, mold, and instill values.  I just think you need to decide what works for you, your children, and your family.  Then, do it the best way you know how, rather than getting sucked into the tornado of judgment and negativity.

I don’t know many of you personally, but I feel it safe to assume you wouldn’t  subscribe to a blog that didn’t support your efforts as a mother or parent.  With that said, I feel comfortable saying I think you are all great moms (parents).   

 Continue loving your children and give yourself a break from-time-to-time.  I’ll try to do the same.  Love and support other moms and dads even if they aren’t doing things exactly like you would.  Who cares, right? 

There isn’t a distinct purpose for this post other than reminding you that For the Love of Mom was created as an outlet for support and encouragement.  If you like For the Love of Mom, then please share!  If you haven’t yet subscribed, but find yourself on the site often, then why don’t you subscribe?!  (see right navigation bar).   

Enjoy this beautiful, sunny day! (well, it’s sunny where I live)

Leave a Reply

